So I got the strangest email today from an "Elizabeth Richson"... no attachment... something that sounded oddly like spam, but it didn't have the horribly-misspelled-all-caps subject lines I'm used to seeing.
The reason I thought it was strange was because the cc: was to agordon@unitedmedia.com (that person who sent me the cease & desist for that Hey Ya, Charlie Brown video last month).
I checked the website at elizabethrichson.com, which doesn't exist. A google search of the name shows that other people reported getting similar messages. My gut feeling is that someone is trying to get people to respond to harvest email addresses.
Here is what my message looked like... beware! And don't reply to "Elizabeth!"
Elizabeth Richson [elizabeth@elizabethrichson.com]Posted by jozjozjoz at March 4, 2004 02:56 PM
To: jozjozjoz
CC: agordon@unitedmedia.com
Subject: jozjozjoz.com ranked # 18 in Google for year of monkey predictionI'm a web master, and I was just searching Google for year of monkey prediction. I found your domain, jozjozjoz.com ranked 18, which is pretty cool.
My site is all about Society - Religion and Spirituality - Divination, too. Maybe we should link up? I wouldn't be stealing any of your sales, because all
I do is write informational articles...not selling anything on my site at all. And most of my visitors write back to say that they love the fact that I only write good, quality info. As a matter of fact, I've got a pretty loyal following of people that come back over and over again (they use the site as a reference), so if you link to me, you should get some pretty good traffic from it -- which is always nice.Anyway, let me know if you'd like to swap links. I've already linked to you,
and will keep it up there for a few days until I hear back. Hope to hear from
you soon!Elizabeth Richson
RAC IM: 759340.
What Jen said, except my Loyola address doesn't have any spam protection (because Loyola is stupid). Which is why I use it as my "public" face. hehehe
Posted by: Mikey2 at March 4, 2004 04:05 PMDomain name: ELIZABETHRICHSON.COM
Administrative Contact:
Johnson, Muliya billrichson@yahoo.com
2198 Apple dr.
Columbus, OH 43212
US
410-678-8768
Technical Contact:
Customer Service, EV1 Servers domains@ev1servers.net
2600 SW Freeway
Suite 500
Houston, Texas 77098
US
+1.7133337873 Fax: +1.7139429332
The domain exists, even though there's not a website associated with it. That registration address and phone number are most likely bogus. (I don't think the 410 area code is even in Ohio.)
So, yes, it's a spammer, but I doubt the name is real.
Yep. 410 is in Maryland. The street address in Columbus doesn't exist, and anything similar is in a different ZIP. Fake domain with fake registration info being used for spam. Whee.
Posted by: Kat at March 4, 2004 05:01 PMStranger Danger!!! She must be destroyed!
Posted by: Hunter at March 4, 2004 06:48 PMI received the same email. I kicked her in the box. I mean I deleted right away.
Posted by: Genuine at March 4, 2004 09:44 PMSpam. Shit. Delete.
Posted by: Burnt Fuse at March 5, 2004 01:58 PMspam detected...delete, delete, DELETE!!! :D
Posted by: lilly at March 5, 2004 04:01 PM
I never open anything from someone I don't know...
Besides, my spam detector gets rids of it all before I even get to see it.
Posted by: Jen at March 4, 2004 03:35 PM